what goes around comes around

When I was a child I was lost in my own imagination most of every day, blissfully unaware of everything, especially how challenging it was for my mother to be my mother, and a single parent at that. She raised me the best she could with what she had. She worked long hours, late nights and weekends, usually for minimum wage.
I took full advantage of every time she was too tired to argue with me, or every unwatched opportunity to be mischievous. Saying I was a “strong-willed” child is putting it very mildly. I can recal doing many things just to prove to her I could.I put my mother through the ringer for the first eighteen years of my life.

As they say hindsight is 20/20. Now looking back I am grateful for her endless patience, encouragement,  and love. But I am also wish I had not given her such a hard time so much of the time. I have no idea how she managed to do what she did by herself. Now I’m 29 with three kids of my own i have a much greater understanding and appreciation for my mother.

Unfortunately she died before I was able to come to this understanding and the chance to share it with her.
One thing she use to tell me as a child has resonated with me, especially the last few years now that I have children of my own. when I would start acting to big for my britches or arguing for argument’s sake. When I had pushed her to her limit She would tell me this: “someday you’re going to have kids just like you!!”. At the time I thought she was crazy, until I had kids just like me. It was karma 20+ years in the making. And now I’m the crazy lady.

untitled-design

Leave a Reply

